10 Crime Festivals Not To Miss This Year

1

A new year has started and if you are a crime fiction fan it’s an opportunity to look ahead and plan your festival calendar. There are so many more than there used to be, we are spoiled for choice. Here we have a mix of old and popular ones, and new festivals that you may not have realised are there and now may be interested in visiting.

 

I’ve listed them in order of their availability. Links to websites are the green bold festival names.

 

  1. Deal NoirTaking place at The Landmark Centre, Deal on Saturday 2nd April 2016. A one-day convention featuring best-selling authors speaking on crime fiction in all its forms from dark psychological thrillers through police procedurals to light-hearted romps.
  2. Newcastle Noir. Taking Place at the Lit and Phil Independent Library, Newcastle on Saturday 30th April and Sunday 1st May. Newcastle Noir is a festival dedicated to promoting crime fiction under all its guises from all over the world.
  3. Crimefest. Taking place at the Marriot hotel, Bristol on 19 – 22nd May. Crimefest is a convention for people who like to read an occasional crime novel as well as for die-hard fanatics.
  4. Crime Story. Taking place at Northumbria University on Saturday 11th June. The festival for crime fiction writers and readers offers a unique insight into real-life criminal investigation.With 20 experts in policing, forensic science, law, criminology, mental health, prisons, and more, we’ll guide you through the criminal investigation process, so that it can inform and inspire your crime writing and reading.
  5. Thrillerfest. Taking place at the Grand Hyatt, New York City on 5-9th July. Thrillerfest is for thriller enthusiasts, bringing together famous authors and new ones along with industry professionals, agents, and fans.
  6. Theakston’s Crime Writing Festival. Taking place at The Swan hotel, Harrogate on 21 – 24th July. It’s known as the friendliest festival with its feet firmly on Yorkshire ground, the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival guarantees thrills, and a few spills at the hotel bar, as thousands descend for one, long summer weekend.
  7. BritCrime. Taking place online. TBC during the summer. 46 British mystery and thriller writers – and one American – who live in the UK. Becoming friends after seeing each other at book launches, library talks, literary festivals and crime writing conventions here and abroad. Britcrime authors love meeting readers and set up BritCrime to give readers an opportunity to meet them at online events that are free and accessible to everyone.
  8. Bloody Scotland. Taking place in Stirling on 9 – 11th September. For fans of National and International crime with special events set up to celebrate Edinburgh and Glasgow as crime fiction settings.
  9. Bouchercon. Taking Place in New Orleans on 15 – 17th September. The World Mystery Convention is a nonprofit, all-volunteer organization which holds an annual convention in honor of Anthony Boucher, the distinguished mystery fiction critic, editor and author. It is the world’s premier event bringing together all parts of the mystery and crime fiction community, and is commonly referred to as Bouchercon. [bough’·chur·con]
  10. Iceland Noir. Taking place in Reykjavik on 17 – 20th November. Iceland Noir was born in 2013 over a curry in one of Reykjavík’s finer Indian restaurants. Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Ragnar Jónasson and Quentin Bates were idly wondering why Iceland had never had its own crime fiction festival. The idea gelled and Iceland Noir was born.

I’m going to be attending some of these, so if you see me about, feel free to say hello. I’d love to chat! Which ones will you be at, or which ones would you like to be at, if you could?

26 thoughts on “10 Crime Festivals Not To Miss This Year

  1. Well, since you mention Bouchercon and Iceland, I might as well suggest Quais du Polar in Lyon. It’s all free, as long as you fly to Lyon or Geneva and stay at a hotel in Lyon. No hardship, since it’s a beautiful city! This year it’s on 1-3 April, so it may be a bit late to book now, but perhaps next year?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so very useful – I had hoped to get to one this year but I need to pick one relatively close to an airport… will ponder as the one I like the sound of most is Theakstons as I’m always so jealous when I hear how much fun everyone has had there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I “loitered” around Brit Crime last year but didn’t actively participate but what I read was interesting. I would love to follow again this year. Attending a physical festival is a goal of mine but don’t think it will be this year 😒

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I shall be tweeting my way through the festivals I attend as well as blogging about them so you’ll get a flavour even if you don’t manage to go. Hopefully you will get there one day.

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s